Is Bee Pollen Vegan? That’s A Tough Choice!

Could bee pollen be vegan?

Every respectable vegan knows that honey is not vegan because of the exploitation of bees in the process of "making" honey, but is it vegan pollen?

Well, there is no simple and direct answer here, since it is a personal choice, based on how you treat and live your veganism. Some vegans are more strict than others, while others are quite calm with the way they choose to act as vegans.

Within this article, we will see the main points about why pollen may or may not be vegan, and why some vegans will use pollen and others will not touch it with a large pole.

First let's define what a vegan is for those who are not vegan by reading:

"Veganism is a way of life that excludes all forms of exploitation and cruelty from the animal kingdom and includes reverence for life. the practice of living of the products of the vegetable kingdom excluding meat, fish, poultry, eggs, honey, animal milk and its derivatives, and encourages the use of alternatives for all merchandise derived totally or partially from animals. "

Donald Watson, 1944

The arguments for and against bee pollen are vegan

As you can see a vegan involves boycotting all forms of animal exploitation, but I still have what to ask is vegan pollen. From the determination of whether the crop or pollen could be classified as a form of exploitation?

On the one hand, it is because the bees are kept strictly to fertilize the fruit trees and are rented to fertilize the flowers. Therefore, mankind is exploiting the skills of the honey bee, and as such, makes pollen not be vegan.

However, on the other hand, this pollen is a waste product, bees have not collected it for their own purpose, nor as humans have encouraged or exploited them to collect pollen. In addition, not all apiaries are kept for human needs; Some apiaries are developed for the benefit of the environment. In some parts of the world with a minimum of bees, apiaries are created to encourage the local flora to grow and flourish, and the pollen of these companies is fortuitous, not manufactured.

Ultimately, it is a personal choice

Both reasons are valid; Without a doubt, it is a personal decision when deciding whether pollen is vegan or not.

However, for those who are only vegan in terms of dietary benefits compared to ethical dilemmas, then pollen can surely be considered vegan in their situation.

This is due to its minimal effect of caloric intake, moreover, pollen is loaded with all the natural enzymes, vitamins and minerals that your diet will lose since it became vegan. By taking pollen, you will find all those minerals and vitamins that you lost when you eliminated meat, eggs and dairy from your diet.

In general, I have to reiterate once again that the answer to & # 39; is the bee pollen vegan? & # 39; It is a decision based on its rigor as a vegan and compliance with the previous appointment. However, if you personally decide that pollen is not vegan, then you will miss the opportunity to take a natural daily supplement that has more power than a combined energy and multivitamin drink.

With such a limited diet, taking such a powerful supplement as pollen, is a smart move, for those vegans who seek to stay as active as possible, avoiding even high-energy non-vegan foods.

Leave a comment